Your guide to driving with UberX Share
With UberX Share, riders heading in the same direction choose to share a ride. Uber finds the best route to pick up multiple riders along an UberX Share trip. This means more time driving and less time waiting for your next trip request.
How UberX Share works
Receive an UberX Share request
When you get a request, you'll see an indicator that the passenger has selected UberX Share, which means they've chosen to share their ride with other passengers.
Pick up your first rider
Drive toward the first pickup address. When you reach the pickup location, start the 2-minute countdown timer. If your passengers don’t show up within 2 minutes, you can cancel the trip and select Rider no-show in the Uber app. You can then view cancellation fee amounts for your area on the Fares section of your partner dashboard.
A rider can choose to walk to a pickup spot at a nearby corner so you can avoid unnecessary detours. If a rider has chosen to walk at pickup, you’ll see an indicator in the app.
Receive an extra UberX Share request
En route to your passenger’s destination, you may get another request added to your UberX Share trip. Navigation will be updated automatically, and it might send you to pick up the next rider before you drop off the first one.
Drop off riders
You should drop off riders in the order that the app displays. The order of pickups and dropoffs is based on the route and where everyone is heading. It’s possible that your second rider will get dropped off before your first rider. Once you’ve dropped off all riders, you can assign a rating to each passenger.
How your fares are calculated
UberX Share trip fares are calculated based on time and distance, from the first pickup of the first rider to the final dropoff of the last rider in the car.
On UberX Share trips, you’ll earn a pickup fare for each additional pickup stop you make after the first rider. These pickup fares are applied per additional pickup spot, not per rider. Pickup flat fares vary by city. You can find yours in the Fares section of partners.uber.com.
UberX Share fares will include applicable surge or Boost pricing. Each UberX Share request will count toward your current Quest promotion.
Understanding the details
Viewing your UberX Share earnings
You’ll see your total earnings in your pay statement and in the Earnings section of your Driver app.
To see a more detailed breakdown of each individual UberX Share trip, you can go to your Earnings section in the app and tap Trips at the top of the screen.
Just like any other ride option, UberX Share riders are prompted with the choice to tip during their trip and after it has been completed. More rides on UberX Share means more opportunities for tips.
Understanding UberX Share and surge
Surge applies on all pickups during an UberX Share trip. The surge multiple for the first UberX Share rider will be applied to any additional riders on that same trip.
For example, if the first rider in the trip has a 2x surge and the second rider has a 1.5x surge, the 2x surge will apply to the entire UberX Share trip, until the last rider of that trip chain is dropped off.
UberX Share cancellations
The wait time for each rider is 2 minutes. After that, you can cancel and select Rider no-show in the app so you can continue the UberX Share trip with your other passengers. You’ll see a cancellation fee in your pay statement and will not be penalized for this cancellation.
How UberX Share ratings work
UberX Share passengers are able to rate the trip once it has ended. When passengers choose to leave a rating, they’re sharing how they felt about the overall Uber experience you provided, on a scale of 1 to 5 stars.
We protect your rating from things you can’t control on UberX Share trips such as in-app navigation and co-rider behavior. When a rider gives a rating lower than 5, they’re prompted with a list of possible reasons. If the rider selects an option that is out of your control, it won’t count toward your overall rating.
Our rating system is a 2-way street. For UberX Share, you could rate each passenger as soon as they reach their destination, but you also have the option to assign a rating to all passengers who matched along a single chain. It’s safer to rate all passengers at the end of the trip, after all previous riders have left your vehicle. If you assign a rating lower than 5 stars, you’ll be prompted to provide optional feedback. Uber uses this feedback to improve rider education.
Frequently asked questions
- How many riders are in each UberX Share request?
Riders can only request an UberX Share trip for themselves at this time. Each individual rider will only be matched with up to one additional rider, for a total of two riders in the vehicle at once at most.
- Do I have to use Uber’s navigation?
You may use your preferred navigation app, but Uber’s in-app navigation is highly recommended for UberX Share trips. With Uber's navigation, you’ll automatically see passengers added to your UberX Share trip without any extra taps, to help you have a seamless and stress-free experience. Visit Settings in your Driver app and tap Navigation to change these preferences.
- What if my rider wants me to decline an additional passenger pickup?
You can kindly remind the rider that they’ve opted to share their ride with other passengers for a more affordable price. If they prefer to have a private ride or are running late, you can offer to end their trip early and suggest they request an UberX trip for a private and direct ride.
- What if my rider wants to change their destination?
UberX Share dropoff locations are fixed because Uber matches riders based on pickups and destinations. Changing the destination will affect the other passengers in the car. If they insist, you can offer to end their trip early and suggest they request an UberX Share trip with their updated destination or request with UberX.
- What if my rider didn’t mean to request UberX Share?
It’s a best practice to confirm at pickup that your rider intended to request an UberX Share trip and share their ride with other passengers. Additionally, you can confirm that a rider has chosen to walk when you arrive at their dropoff point. If your rider didn’t mean to request UberX Share or would like a door-to-door ride, kindly ask that they cancel and request a ride with UberX instead.
- What if a rider isn’t at the pickup location?
Consider waiting one minute before calling the rider. If they still haven’t shown up after 2 minutes, you can cancel the trip, select Rider no-show, and move on. You’ll see a cancellation fee in your pay statement.
- How can I see my per-trip UberX Share earnings?
You can go to the Earnings section of your Driver app and tap the link at the bottom of the screen to see a detailed breakdown of each individual UberX Share trip.
- Do my UberX Share fares include Surge or Boost pricing?
Yes, UberX Share time and distance rates will include surge or Boost pricing. Each UberX Share request counts toward your Quest promotion.
- How are my earnings related to what a rider pays for an UberX Share trip?
Your earnings are calculated based on fixed per-minute and per-mile rates starting from when the first rider enters your car to when the last rider exits. The surge multiple that exists when you accept the first UberX Share rider will be the multiplier that applies to the entire UberX Share trip. Any promotions or discounts the rider uses will not affect your earnings.
- What happens if I have only one rider during an UberX Share trip?
You’ll always earn the time, distance, base fare, and any applicable surge or Boost pricing for the entire duration of the trip. In this case, you’ll be paid from the time the rider enters your car to when they leave your vehicle.
- If there’s traffic and the trip is longer than expected, do I still receive payment for the extra time I spent on the trip?
Yes, you’re paid for all the time you spend on a trip. Even though riders pay an upfront price, your earnings are calculated based on the actual time and distance you travel plus applicable surge and Boost.
- Will I be paid for the time I spend waiting for my riders on an UberX Share trip?
You’re paid fixed per-minute and per-mile rates starting from when the first rider enters your car to when the last rider leaves. If you have an UberX Share rider in your car and spend time waiting for another rider once you arrive at their pickup location, you’ll always be paid for this time.
- Where can I find my UberX Share rates, including my pickup fares for additional stops?
Visit partners.uber.com to find your exact rates for all types of trips, including UberX Share.
The information provided on this web page is intended for informational purposes only and may not be applicable in your country, region, or city. It is subject to change and may be updated without notice.
Car service cities
Jobs by city
Charter bus rentals