As of April 1, 2019, we are not accepting new for-hire vehicle driver sign-ups in New York City, due in part to new TLC regulations.
- Driver Guide
- Resources for drivers
Resources for drivers
New York City
Driving in New York City can be hectic. But don’t worry—Uber has your back. Get tips and resources to help you be a better driver and get more 5-star ratings.
Taxi & Limousine Commission requirements
As a driver and/or vehicle owner of a for-hire vehicle (FHV), you are required to follow the Taxi & Limousine Commission rules that apply to the license(s) you hold.
Among other things, the TLC rules require drivers and/or vehicle owners to:
- Get FHVs inspected at least once every 4 months. [TLC Rule 59A-26(a)]
- Display your TLC driver’s license while you are operating the vehicle for hire. Your license should be displayed in a place that is clearly visible to passengers. [TLC Rule 80-24(a)(2)]
- Display a safety sticker within the FHV that states “Turning? People are Crossing.” This is also known as the “Vision Zero Sticker.” The sticker should be affixed to the inside of the front windshield, in the center and at the top of the windshield directly behind the rearview mirror. The sticker should not be placed on the windshield in a way that will obstruct the driver’s view. [TLC Rule 59A-29(j)]
- Only use an “electronic communication device” (i.e. your mobile device) while the FHV is legally parked or legally standing. Using your device includes operating the device in any way (including to text or make calls), having the device in your hand, and using a bluetooth or other hands-free device in or near your ear. Note that using the Uber app to accept trips is allowed, provided that the device is mounted in a fixed position. [TLC Rule 80-14(g)]
- Only complete trips by prearrangement with a licensed for-hire base. A driver cannot solicit or pick up passengers in any other way, including “street hails,” “private trips,” or any trips that are not prearranged by a licensed for-hire base. [TLC Rule 80-19(c)]
- Drivers of FHVs may not pick up passengers at any taxi stand. [TLC Rule 80-19(d)(2)]
- Drivers are limited to a combined 10 hours of driving on trips transporting passengers. The 10 hour limit does not include time spent waiting for trip requests or driving to pick up passengers. Drivers can reset this 10-hour clock by taking an 8-hour break. Drivers are also limited to 60 hours of passenger time each calendar week (Sunday to Saturday). [TLC Rule 80-14(f)]
Failing to comply with the TLC rules may result in summonses, fines, or other penalties. You are responsible for your own compliance with the TLC rules, and you are responsible for handling incidents resulting in violations of those rules. The full TLC rules are available online.
This list is not an exhaustive list of the TLC rules and does not constitute legal advice.