Requirements on the road
To help you stay safe and compliant on the road, this page talks about being aware of local regulatory requirements. Please take the time to read and understand your obligations under these regulations.
Some regulations require you to display a sign or sticker that helps riders identify that you are a rideshare driver. To help with this, we provide a removable Uber sticker to be displayed on your vehicle whenever you’re online (where required). If the sticker is not properly displayed, or if it’s not visible while you’re driving with the Driver app (day or night), you could be subject to penalties by local authorities.
State and local regulations may enforce limits on the number of hours drivers can spend online on rideshare platforms. To help you keep track of your time online, the Driver app will alert you when you’re approaching the applicable limit, and then again when you’ve been online for the maximum amount of time. After a substantial period of time offline, driving time resets and you can go online again to receive trip requests.
Our Community Guidelines were developed to help make every experience feel safe, respectful, and positive. Everyone who signs up for an Uber account across all of our apps, including drivers, riders, delivery people, Uber Eats users, and restaurants, is expected to follow the guidelines. Tap here for more information.
- As of April 1, 2019, we are not accepting new driver signups in New York City, due in part to new TLC regulations.
- New York City regulations prohibit drivers from transporting passengers for more than 10 hours in any 24-hour period and for more than 60 hours in a calendar week (Monday-Sunday)
- Only the time when a passenger is in your car is counted against the 10 hour limit; time spent waiting for trip requests, driving to pick up customers, or waiting for customers to get to your car is not counted
- You can reset the 10 hours and get back on the road after 8 hours offline
Trips outside of New York City
Information for FHV drivers
Commercially licensed drivers are not allowed to do trips that both start and end outside of the 5 boroughs of New York City.
- If you’re a commercially licensed driver and complete a trip that starts in New York City and ends in Westchester, Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, Dutchess, or Ulster County, you will then only receive a trip request returning to New York City
- You do not need to change anything in your app or set a destination—you will automatically receive only a trip back to New York City
- Uber rates for the counties above will apply to any trips from those counties back into New York City
Trips back to NYC
This is a map of where you'll be able to receive a trip request returning to New York City.
Note: no action is needed if you want to continue driving in NYC as a TLC-licensed driver.
Remember, it's always your responsibility to understand and comply with the law when you’re out on the road. Nothing on Uber’s website is legal or tax advice. If you have questions about the law, you can always consult your local department of transportation and/or an appropriate legal or tax professional.