Skip to main content

Vehicle requirements

San Diego

Does your vehicle qualify to drive with Uber? Most 4-door cars do, but requirements vary by vehicle option. And if you don't have a car, we can help you get one.

Minimum requirements

  • 15-year-old vehicle or newer
  • 4 doors
  • Good condition with no cosmetic damage (see below)
  • Pass a vehicle inspection

Cosmetic guidelines

Some cosmetic features may prevent vehicles from qualifying. These include:

  • Full-body wraps containing advertisements, or any large ads or commercial branding
  • Holes in exterior
  • Taxi decals or taxi-style or neon paint jobs (yellow, orange, bright green, pink, etc.)
  • Aftermarket and manufacturer paint jobs, and decals
  • Significant damage to interior (torn seats, large permanent stains, strong permanent odors)
  • Paint oxidation
  • Different-color hoods/doors
  • Aftermarket modifications

Window tinting must be within acceptable California regulations.

California insurance

All drivers must maintain their own insurance policy in accordance with state and local laws. In addition, Uber maintains automobile liability insurance on behalf of all US drivers.

Vehicle options in San Diego

UberX

Most newer cars qualify to drive with UberX, the most popular vehicle option for riders.

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • 5 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxi cabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems
  • Vehicle must be registered and insured in the state of California

UberXL

Seat extra passengers—and earn higher fares—with your high-capacity vehicle.

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • 7 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxi cabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems
  • Vehicle must be registered and insured in the state of California

Uber Black

Offer luxury rides in the original Uber black car service.

Additional requirements

  • Keep a star rating of 4.85 or higher
  • Commercial insurance
  • Additional document required

Vehicle requirements

  • 5-year-old vehicle or newer
  • Exterior: black only
  • Interior: black leather or vegan leather only
  • Seat at least 4 passengers in addition to the driver
  • No cosmetic damage or missing pieces
  • Working windows
  • No visible stains
  • Operational A/C

If you’re interested in signing up for Uber Black or Uber Black SUV, please schedule a GLH appointment.

Uber Black SUV

Make room for the whole crew with this high-end vehicle service. Only black SUVs qualify.

Additional requirements

  • Keep a star rating of 4.85 or higher
  • Commercial Insurance
  • Additional document required

Vehicle requirements

  • 5-year-old vehicle or newer
  • Exterior: black only
  • Interior: black Leather or vegan leather only
  • Seat at least 6 passengers in addition to the driver
  • No cosmetic damage or missing pieces
  • Working windows
  • No visible stains
  • Operational A/C

If you’re interested in signing up for Uber Black or Uber Black SUV, please schedule a GLH appointment.

Español

Are you fluent in Spanish? Allow riders to experience UberX with a Spanish-speaking driver.

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • 5 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxicabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems
  • Vehicle must be registered and insured in the state of California

Uber Comfort

Uber Comfort was designed to maximize possibilities on the Uber platform.

Additional requirements

  • Maintaining eligibility on a different Uber option such as Uber Black, Uber Black SUV, Select, UberX, or UberXL
  • Having a minimum star rating of 4.85 based on at least 250 trips
  • Driving a vehicle with more legroom than smaller, compact cars eligible for UberX and that meet the minimum vehicle year requirement

Uber vehicle decals

Under local regulations for San Diego, California, all drivers must display Uber decals on their vehicle while online. Place them on your front passenger windshield and rear passenger windshield facing outward. You can remove them when you decide to go offline and save them for the next time. If you'd like, you can keep the paper they come with to place your sticker on when not in use.

Once you begin driving using the Uber app, we'll mail you a decal. You should receive it within 7 business days. If you ever need a new decal after you become a driver, you can request that a new one be mailed to you. You can also pick one up at your local Greenlight Hub.

Need a temporary decal? You can print one at home here.

California riders

Age requirements

In California, due to CPUC (California Public Utilities Commission) requirements, you cannot transport an unaccompanied minor on trips requested through the Uber app. Keep in mind that in California, a rider must be over 18 to sign up for an Uber account, but if you believe a rider might be underage, you can ask them to confirm their age and let them know that you will have to cancel the trip if they are indeed under 18. In addition, you can report requests to transport unaccompanied minors by submitting in-app feedback.

Self-reporting vehicle mileage

In California, all TNC vehicles must complete a 19-point vehicle inspection every 12 months or 50,000 miles, whichever occurs first. The 50,000-mile requirement includes miles driven when not logged in to the Driver app. As such, we require all drivers to self-report their vehicle mileage. You'll find out how to report your mileage in the Driver app.

CPUC information requests

The CPUC requires us to notify drivers in California that consent is not needed for the disclosure of your information to the CPUC. To find out more information about this, you can view decision 16-04-041 of the CPUC at 3.

Find more ways to earn

Drivers 19 years of age and older may qualify for delivery services like Uber Eats.

Start making money with Uber