Skip to main content
Uber

Tell us your location

Not in Washington D.C.? Please enter your location to help us display the correct information for your area.

Vehicle requirements

Wilmington, NC

Does your vehicle qualify to drive with Uber? Most four-door cars do, but requirements vary by vehicle option.

Minimum requirements

  • 15-year-old vehicle or newer
  • 4-door vehicle
  • Good condition with no cosmetic damage
  • No commercial branding
  • Pass a vehicle inspection (only if you have an out-of-state vehicle)

Registration

Uber accepts both official and temporary registration documents. The vehicle does not need to be registered in your name to qualify.

Insurance

All partners must maintain their own insurance policy in accordance with state and local laws. In addition, Uber maintains automobile liability insurance on behalf of all U.S. partners.

Vehicle options in Wilmington, NC

uberX

Most newer cars qualify to drive with uberX, the most popular vehicle option for riders.

Please note that subcompact vehicles may not be eligible for all incentives.*

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • Have 5 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxi cabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems

uberXL

Seat extra passengers—and earn higher fares—with your high-capacity vehicle.

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • Have 7 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxi cabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems

Uber vehicle decals and license plate placard

The Uber decal must be displayed in your windshield when picking up and dropping off at the airport. Place it on your front passenger windshield facing outward.

Once you become an Uber partner, we will mail you a decal. You should receive it within 7 business days. If you ever need a new decal after you become a partner, you can request a new one be mailed to you. You can also pick one up at your local Greenlight Hub.

Need a temporary decal? Print one at home here.

License plate placard

The North Carolina legislature passed a new law that requires all rideshare drivers to display their license plate number from the front of their vehicle beginning October 1, 2019.

This requirement is meant to help riders match the license plate number before entering your vehicle to help create safer experiences for everyone. All new and existing Uber driver-partners will receive a physical placard to their mailing address.

If you haven’t received your license plate placard, consider following the instructions below to be in compliance:

  1. Print the temporary placard here

  2. Using a permanent marker, write your license plate number in large font

  3. Tape the temporary placard on the passenger side, bottom right corner of your front windshield alongside your Uber decal. Ensure the license number faces outward.

If you've recently added a new vehicle, or previously requested a license plate placard but it hasn't arrived, request a new one here.

The placard with corresponding license plate number should be displayed on every vehicle that you use to drive with Uber.

Start making money with Uber

Sign up now