Here's what you need to know about CPUC requirements in the state of California.
CPUC information for Uber driver-partners
Display your Uber vehicle decals
The CPUC requires that partners must display an Uber trade dress decal on their vehicle while online with the Driver app. Place them on your front passenger windshield and rear passenger windshield facing outward.
Once you become an Uber driver-partner and are approved to drive, Uber will mail trade dress decals to the address in your driver profile. You should receive the decals within 7 business days. If you ever need a new decal after you become a driver-partner, you can request a new one be mailed to you. You can also pick one up at your local Uber Greenlight Hub. Need a temporary trade dress decal? Print one at home here.
Having Uber trade dress helps riders quickly identify your car so you can start the trip on time. Please be aware that failure to display trade dress on both front and rear windshields when online can result in a violation of local ordinances resulting in potential tickets and fines up to $1,000.
If your windows are tinted and the trade dress is not visible from at least 50 feet, please visit your local Uber Greenlight Hub to receive a decal to apply to the exterior of the vehicle.
The CPUC prohibits TNC drivers from transporting riders under the age of 18 unless they are accompanied by an adult.
In California, a rider must be 18 or over to sign up for an Uber account. That being said, if you believe a rider might be underage, you can ask them to confirm their age.
If they are indeed under 18, let them know you will have to cancel the trip. Once you cancel, it’s a good idea to report the situation to Uber by submitting in-app feedback.
Service animal policy
You do not have to accept a trip with a pet. However, in accordance with accessibility laws, it is illegal to deny a trip because the rider has a service animal. Service animals are trained to do work or perform tasks for an individual with a disability. Emotional support animals are different from service animals, and therefore do not receive the same protections under the law.
Riders are not required to present documentation proving that their animal is a service animal. There is no requirement that a service animal wear a tag, be registered, or display any kind of proof that it is a service animal.
In accordance with the law and Uber’s policies, refusing to transport service animals, even once, may result in permanent loss of access to the Uber Driver app.
Airport rules and regulations
Each airport in California has different rules for picking up and dropping off riders. It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the rules and regulations of your local airports.