Please enable Javascript
Skip to main content

Uber is no longer offering in-person support in Connecticut. You can get help 24 hours a day, 7 days a week in the Driver app by tapping Help, then choosing a topic to see answers to frequently asked questions. Or try exploring Uber's Help Center online.

X small (filled)

To make sure we’re doing our part to help prevent the spread of COVID-19, we’re switching to an appointment-only model for select Greenlight locations. Drivers and delivery people are required to schedule an appointment in advance if they want to visit a Greenlight location.

X small (filled)

Vehicle requirements

Connecticut
Does your vehicle qualify to drive with Uber? Most four-door cars do, but requirements vary by vehicle option.

Minimum requirements

  • 12-year-old vehicle or newer
  • 4-door vehicle
  • Good condition with no cosmetic damage
  • No commercial branding

 

Registration

Uber accepts both official and temporary registration documents. The vehicle does not need to be registered in your name to qualify.

Insurance

All drivers must maintain their own insurance policy in accordance with state and local laws. As part of statewide Transportation Network Company regulations for Connecticut, all drivers must keep a paper copy of Certificates of Insurance (COI) in their vehicle while driving on the Uber platform—this includes the COIs associated with the rideshare insurance Uber maintains on behalf of its drivers.

Click here and tap on 'Connecticut' to print off the COIs.

More on vehicle insurance

Eligible vehicles list

Find the vehicle makes and models that are eligible to drive with Uber in your city.

Vehicle options in Connecticut

UberX

Most newer cars qualify to drive with UberX, the most popular vehicle option for riders.

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • Have 5 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxi cabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems

UberXL

Seat extra passengers—and earn higher fares—with your high-capacity vehicle.

Additional requirements

  • 4-door vehicle with independently opening passenger doors
  • Have 7 factory-installed seats and seat belts
  • Working windows and air conditioning
  • No vans, box trucks, or similar vehicles
  • No taxi cabs, government cars, or other marked vehicles
  • No salvaged or rebuilt vehicles
  • No aftermarket seating modifications, such as installed seats, seat belts, or BedRyder systems

Comfort

Comfort was designed to maximize possibilities on the Uber platform.

Additional requirements:

  • Maintain eligibility on a different Uber option such as UberX, UberXL, Uber Black, or Uber Black SUV
  • Have a minimum star rating of 4.85 based on at least 250 trips
  • Drive a vehicle with more legroom than smaller, compact cars eligible for UberX and that meet the minimum vehicle year requirement

Premier

Premium rides with highly rated drivers.

Fairfield County only

Additional requirements:

  • Have a minimum star rating of 4.85 based on 250 completed trips
  • Drive an eligible luxury vehicle with a leather interior that is 5 years old or newer

Premier SUV

Premium rides for 6 with highly rated drivers.

Fairfield County only

Additional requirements:

  • Have a minimum star rating of 4.85 based on 250 completed trips
  • Drive an eligible luxury vehicle with a leather interior that is 5 years old or newer

Local requirements

To ensure that you stay safe and compliant on the road, all drivers should be aware of local regulatory requirements.

Uber decal requirements

Beginning October 1, 2017, under statewide ridesharing regulations for Connecticut, all drivers must display an Uber decal on their vehicle while online.

The decal can be placed in the bottom passenger corner of your front windshield, facing outward. You can remove it when you decide to go offline and save it for the next time. Pro Tip: keep the paper it comes with to place your sticker on when not in use.

While you wait for your Uber decal to arrive, you can print and use this temporary decal.

Obtaining the decal

Once you become an Uber driver, we will mail you a decal. You should receive it within 7 business days.

If you ever need a new decal after you become a driver, you can request a new one be mailed to you.

Need a temporary decal? Print one at home here.

Need additional help?

Would you like to speak to someone in person? Meet us at one of our many in-person support locations across the state.

Uber delivery services

Find more ways to earn. Drivers 19 years of age and older may qualify for delivery services, like UberEATS.

Start making money with Uber