Please enable Javascript
Skip to main content

Looking for driving jobs in your city ?

Are you searching for full-time driver jobs or part-time driver jobs in your city? Try using Uber instead. The app gives you the flexibility to set your own hours and earn on your time.

Become a driver

By proceeding, I agree to Uber’s Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Notice.

By proceeding, I am also consenting to receive calls or SMS messages, including by automatic dialer, from Uber and its affiliates to the number I provide. I understand that I may opt out by texting “STOP” to 89203.

Already have an account?Sign in

Become a rideshare driver in Sacramento

Your city needs drivers like you to keep everyone moving forward. Thousands of riders request rides with Uber every day. You can use your vehicle to get paid to drive in Sacramento while getting riders where they need to go.

Uber also connects you to these ways to earn:

Deliver with Uber Eats

Try food delivery using your 4-wheel or 2-wheel vehicle. With Uber Eats, you can connect people with the food they love from local restaurants.

Refer drivers

Invite friends and family to join the Uber community. Use your promo code when referring others, and you’ll earn a reward after they complete a certain number of trips.

Displaying your Uber vehicle decals

The CPUC (California Public Utilities Commission) requires that drivers must display an Uber decal on their vehicle while online. Place them on your front passenger windshield and rear passenger windshield facing outward. When taking trips at SMF, the airport requires you to display its placard beneath your front trade dress.

You can remove the decals when you decide to go offline and save them for the next time. Pro tip: keep the paper they come with to place your sticker on when not in use.

Once you become a driver on the Uber platform, we will mail you a decal. You should receive it within 7 business days. If you ever need a new decal after you become a driver, you can request a new one be mailed to you. You can also pick one up at your local Greenlight Hub.

Need a temporary decal? You can print one at home here.

Having Uber trade dress helps your customers quickly identify your car, which can help you start the trip on time. Please be aware that failure to display trade dress on both front and rear windshields when online can result in a ticket and fine of up to $1,000.

CPUC requirements

Age requirements

In California, due to CPUC requirements, you cannot transport an unaccompanied minor on trips arranged through the Uber app. Keep in mind that in California, a rider must be over 18 to sign up for an Uber account, but if you believe a rider might be underage, you can ask them to confirm their age and let them know that you will have to cancel the trip if they are indeed under 18. In addition, you can report requests to transport unaccompanied minors by submitting in-app feedback.

CPUC information requests

The CPUC requires us to notify drivers in California that consent is not needed for the disclosure of a driver's information to the CPUC. See CPUC Decision 16-04-041 at 3.

Helping you stay informed and safe

Support at every turn

We want every Uber trip to be hassle-free. So we’re here to help with account setup, fare adjustments, and more whenever you need it.

Your safety while driving

The Driver app’s safety technology helps you get connected to loved ones, Uber Support, and emergency authorities while you’re on the road.

Frequently asked questions

  • Different driving jobs in Sacramento offer different opportunities. Some driving jobs have set hours and strict schedules. With Uber, you can decide whether you want to drive frequently or just a short time on the weekend. Previous rideshare experience is not required.

  • Your schedule is up to you. With Uber, you can get paid to drive when you want. You have the flexibility to be a rideshare driver in Sacramento whenever you choose.

  • We make it as easy as possible for you to track your earnings from riders. A monetary amount at the top of your screen will show how much you’re getting paid to drive in Sacramento. Look for helpful tools in the app to give you more details and show you your totals in real time.

  • When you become a driver in Sacramento with Uber, you need to be at least the minimum age to drive here, have an eligible form of transportation, and submit required documents, such as a valid driver’s license. You must also pass a background screening and have at least one year of driving experience with a license.

Start making money with Uber