Requirements on the road
To help you stay safe and compliant on the road, this page talks about being aware of local regulatory requirements. Please take the time to read and understand your obligations under these regulations.
Some regulations require you to display a sign or sticker that helps riders identify that you are a rideshare driver. To help with this, we provide a removable Uber sticker to be displayed on your vehicle whenever you’re online (where required). If the sticker is not properly displayed, or if it’s not visible while you’re driving with the Driver app (day or night), you could be subject to penalties by local authorities.
State and local regulations may enforce limits on the number of hours drivers can spend online on rideshare platforms. To help you keep track of your time online, the Driver app will alert you when you’re approaching the applicable limit, and then again when you’ve been online for the maximum amount of time. After a substantial period of time offline, driving time resets and you can go online again to receive trip requests.
Our Community Guidelines were developed to help make every experience feel safe, respectful, and positive. Everyone who signs up for an Uber account across all of our apps, including drivers, riders, delivery people, Uber Eats users, and restaurants, is expected to follow the guidelines. Tap here for more information.
Bicycle and pedestrian safety
Partners must obey all local traffic laws, including laws related to blocking crosswalks or intersections and laws related to driving or stopping in bicycle lanes.
Click here for a summary of bicycle and pedestrian traffic safety and regulations in the District of Columbia.
DFHV Contact Details
The DC Code requires us to provide the telephone number or electronic mail address for the Department of For-Hire Vehicles.
Phone number: (202) 645-7300
Email address: dfhv.ClientServices@dc.gov
Information about DC’s insurance requirements for passenger for-hire vehicles are set forth in D.C. Code § 50-301.29c.
Display your Uber vehicle decal
Under local regulations for Virginia, all drivers must display an Uber decal on their vehicle while online. Place it on your rear passenger window facing outward. You can remove it when you decide to go offline and save it for the next time. Pro tip: if you keep the paper it comes with, you can place your sticker on that when not in use.
Once you become a driver using Uber, we'll mail you a decal. You should receive it within 7 business days. If you ever need a new decal after you become a driver, you can request a new one be mailed to you. You can also pick one up at your local Greenlight Hub.
Need a temporary decal? Print one at home here.
Hours on the road
Virginia law requires that no TNC driver shall operate a motor vehicle for more than 13 hours in any 24-hour period.
Virginia safety screening criteria
Before authorizing an individual to act as a TNC partner, and at least once every two years after authorizing an individual to act as a TNC partner, a transportation network company shall obtain a national criminal history records check of that person. The background check shall include (i) a Multi-State/Multi-Jurisdiction Criminal Records Database Search or a search of a similar nationwide database with validation (primary source search) and (ii) a search of the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry and the U.S. Department of Justice's National Sex Offender Public Website. The person conducting the background check shall be accredited by the National Association of Professional Background Screeners or a comparable entity approved by the Department.
Before authorizing an individual to act as a TNC partner, and at least once annually after authorizing an individual to act as a TNC partner, a transportation network company shall obtain and review a driving history research report on that person from the individual's state of licensure.
Before authorizing an individual to act as a TNC partner, and at least once every two years after authorizing a person to act as a TNC partner, a transportation network company shall verify that the person is not listed on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry or on the U.S. Department of Justice's National Sex Offender Public Website.
A transportation network company shall not authorize an individual to act as a TNC partner if the criminal history records check required under subsection B reveals that the individual:
- Is a person for whom registration with the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry is required pursuant to Chapter 9 (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) of Title 9.1 or is listed on the U.S. Department of Justice's National Sex Offender Public Website;
- Has ever been convicted of or has ever pled guilty or nolo contendere to a violent felony offense as listed in subsection C of § 17.1-805, or a substantially similar law of another state or of the United States;
- Within the preceding seven years has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to any of the following offenses, either under Virginia law or a substantially similar law of another state or of the United States: (i) any felony offense other than those included in subdivision 2; (ii) an offense under § 18.2-266, 18.2-266.1, 18.2-272, or 46.2-341.24; or (iii) any offense resulting in revocation of a driver's license pursuant to § 46.2-389 or 46.2-391; or
- Within the preceding three years has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo contendere to any of the following offenses, either under Virginia law or a substantially similar law of another state or of the United States: (i) three or more moving violations; (ii) eluding a law-enforcement officer, as described in § 46.2-817; (iii) reckless driving, as described in Article 7 (§ 46.2-852 et seq.) of Chapter 8; (iv) operating a motor vehicle in violation of § 46.2-301; or (v) refusing to submit to a chemical test to determine the alcohol or drug content of the person's blood or breath, as described in § 18.2-268.3 or 46.2-341.26:3.
Notifying us of any changes
You are required to notify us of any change in your driver’s license status, motor vehicle registration, or motor vehicle insurance as well as any arrest or charge for a crime or driving offense, including any arrest or charge that would require you to register on the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry or on the US Department of Justice's National Sex Offender Public Website.
Maryland regulations require that any driver who is arrested or convicted of a crime notify Uber within 3 business days of the arrest or conviction. You can notify Uber here.
Remember, it's always your responsibility to understand and comply with the law when you’re out on the road. Nothing on Uber’s website is legal or tax advice. If you have questions about the law, you can always consult your local department of transportation and/or an appropriate legal or tax professional.