Drive when you want, make what you need
Earn on your own schedule.
Become a rideshare driver in Orange County
Your city needs drivers like you to keep everyone moving forward. Thousands of riders request rides with Uber every day. You can use your vehicle to get paid to drive in Orange County while getting riders where they need to go.
Uber also connects you to these ways to earn:
Deliver with Uber Eats
Try food delivery using your 4-wheel or 2-wheel vehicle. With Uber Eats, you can connect people with the food they love from local restaurants.
Invite friends and family to join the Uber community. Use your promo code when referring others, and you’ll earn a reward after they complete a certain number of trips.
Often, while on a trip, toll roads in the Southern California area are used to get passengers safely to their destination.
While on a trip, drivers are responsible for paying tolls to toll roads. When the trip ends, tolls are automatically billed to the passenger, and drivers will be refunded on their weekly earnings statement.
Note: it’s important to remember that you will not be refunded for tolls while you are not on a trip with a rider, even if you're on the way to their pickup location.
- How do I pay for tolls?
There are 2 ways you can pay for tolls:
- You can make a one-time online payment at thetollroads.com without an account within 5 days.
- You can set up an online account or physical transponder account with the Toll Roads at thetollroads.com.
- Which toll roads are eligible for toll refunds?
Drivers will be reimbursed for tolls on Toll Roads 73, 125, 133, 241, and 261.
Riders will not be charged and drivers will not be reimbursed for tolls in the optional high-occupancy vehicle lane on the 110 freeway.
- Do I have to use toll roads?
While many riders prefer to use the toll roads, some do not. You can check with your rider and let them know that they'll be billed for the toll if you take those roads.
CPUC and city requirements: annual background screenings
In accordance with California Public Utilities Commission Decision D.17-11-010, and Pub. Util. Code § 5445.2, all drivers are required to complete an annual background check.
Displaying your Uber vehicle decals
The CPUC requires that drivers must display an Uber decal on their vehicle while online. Place them on your front passenger windshield and rear passenger windshield facing outward. When taking airport trips, the airport requires you to display its placard beneath your front trade dress.
You can remove the decals when you decide to go offline and save them for the next time. Pro tip: keep the paper they come with to place your sticker on when not in use.
Once you begin driving using Uber, we'll mail you a decal. You should receive it within 7 business days. If you ever need a new decal after you become a driver, you can request a new one be mailed to you. You can also pick one up at your local Greenlight Hub.
Need a temporary decal? You can print one at home here.
Having Uber trade dress helps riders quickly identify your car, which can help you start the trip on time. Please be aware that failure to display trade dress on both front and rear windshields when online can result in a ticket and fine of up to $1,000.
Self-reporting vehicle mileage
In California, all TNC vehicles must complete a 19-point vehicle inspection every 12 months or 50,000 miles, whichever occurs first. The 50,000-mile requirement includes miles driven when not logged in to the Driver app. As such, we require all drivers to self-report their vehicle mileage. Be on the lookout for how to report your mileage in the Driver app.
CPUC information requests
The CPUC requires us to notify drivers in California that consent is not needed for the disclosure of a driver's information to the CPUC. See CPUC Decision 16-04-041 at 3.
In California, due to CPUC requirements, you cannot transport an unaccompanied minor on trips arranged through the Uber app. Keep in mind that in California, a rider must be over 18 to sign up for an Uber account, but if you believe a rider might be underage, you can ask them to confirm their age and let them know that you will have to cancel the trip if they are indeed under 18. In addition, you can report requests to transport unaccompanied minors by submitting in-app feedback.
Customer service classes
If you're interested for your business, you can watch a series of videos introducing beginning and experienced drivers to lessons and techniques designed to improve customer service skills and ratings. The class is available in a dozen languages including English, Chinese, and Spanish.
The latest in Orange County
Helping you stay informed and safe
Support at every turn
We want every Uber trip to be hassle-free. So we’re here to help with account setup, fare adjustments, and more whenever you need it.
Your safety while driving
The Driver app’s safety technology helps you get connected to loved ones, Uber Support, and emergency authorities while you’re on the road.
Frequently asked questions
- How does driving with Uber compare with full-time or part-time driver jobs in Orange County?
Different driving jobs in Orange County offer different opportunities. Some driving jobs have set hours and strict schedules. With Uber, you can decide whether you want to drive frequently or just a short time on the weekend. Previous rideshare experience is not required.
- I’m looking for full-time or part-time driver jobs near me. If I choose to use Uber instead, how often will I have to drive?
Your schedule is up to you. With Uber, you can get paid to drive when you want. You have the flexibility to be a rideshare driver in Orange County whenever you choose.
- How can I see how much I’ll get paid after each trip?
We make it as easy as possible for you to track your earnings from riders. A monetary amount at the top of your screen will show how much you’re getting paid to drive in Orange County. Look for helpful tools in the app to give you more details and show you your totals in real time.
- What are the requirements to drive with Uber near me?
When you become a driver in Orange County with Uber, you need to be at least the minimum age to drive here, have an eligible form of transportation, and submit required documents, such as a valid driver’s license. You must also pass a background screening and have at least one year of driving experience with a license.
Car service cities
Jobs by city
Charter bus rentals