Updates to Delivery Person Agreements and Service Fees starting 1 March 2021
In 2021, Uber Eats will introduce new product features designed to simplify and improve the way eaters, delivery people and merchants use the Uber App.
As part of that and to continue to deliver an outstanding customer experience to all we will make some changes to the way we structure agreements with you.
Please note that the content on the page below is only valid until midnight 28 February 2021. On 1 March 2021 the content will be updated to reflect the business model changes.
The main differences you will notice effective 1 March:
Previously you were engaged by the restaurant to undertake deliveries. Under the new agreement, you will be engaging directly with Portier Pacific Pty Ltd (an Uber entity) to provide delivery services to customers under a subcontract with Uber Eats. Access to the app will still be provided by Uber Portier B.V.
Service fee changes:
We won’t charge service fees for your earnings on the app anymore. This change does not impact your per trip earnings on the app. The minimum net earnings per trip when a delivery request is offered to you are already shown and this won’t change.
The Uber Eats guide to trip requests and smarter earning in Bundaberg
Use this page to understand earning opportunities with Uber Eats. Find out when and where it’s best to take a trip, so you feel confident hitting the road.
You’ll know your minimum earnings for each trip upfront, every time
Before you accept a trip, you’ll be provided with upfront trip information. This includes the minimum earnings you’ll receive (after Uber service fee), your pickup and drop-off locations, the name and location of the restaurant, and the total estimated time and distance from when you accept a delivery request to when you drop off the order.
And remember – the upfront minimum earnings shown is after the Uber service fee is deducted. This means you’ll know the minimum amount you’ll earn every time.
Once you complete a trip, the trip details screen will give you a comprehensive breakdown of all your trip components. Any tips or tolls will be added or reimbursed after your trip and shown on the trip details screen.
Frequently asked questions
- What upfront trip information will be displayed on my app before I accept a trip request?
While delivery partners have always been free to cancel a trip request after accepting it, at the moment not all information about the trip is provided upfront. We know accepting a trip can be about more than money, so you’ll now also see the location and name of the restaurant, the total estimated time and distance from accepting the trip to drop-off, and your pickup and drop-off locations. This means you will have more information upfront before deciding whether to accept a trip.
- Is time and distance shown on the trip request screen from when I accept the trip request?
Yes, the way you earn is changing to better reflect each trip’s total time and distance. The time and distance shown on the trip request screen is the estimated total trip time and distance for the whole trip, including the estimated time and distance to travel to the restaurant and the estimated wait times at the restaurant.
- Does the amount shown upfront on the trip request screen include my tip?
No, tips are not included in the upfront minimum earnings amount that you see on the trip request screen. Any tips you earn are an addition to your other trip earnings and will be reflected in the trip receipt. As a reminder, you can check the Trip Details screen one hour after drop-off to see your total trip earnings for each trip. Consumers have that time to edit their tip based on your service.
- Does the amount shown upfront on the trip request screen include tolls?
No, tolls are not included in the upfront minimum earnings amount that you see on the trip request screen. Tolls legitimately incurred between pickup and drop-off will be reimbursed to you. Tolls will be shown in the trip details screen after you complete the trip.
- Are the rates in gross or net?
The amount you see on the trip request screen represents your minimum earnings after the Uber service fee is deducted, which means you’ll know the minimum amount you’ll earn for each trip, every time.
- How can I make sure I get paid the amount shown on the trip request screen?
Once you complete a trip, you can check the Trip Details screen to see your total earnings for the trip. You’ll see the upfront amount you were shown on the trip request screen as the “Estimated min. earnings after service fee”, so you can easily match up the numbers.
- Will I always get paid the exact amount shown upfront on the trip request screen?
The upfront amount shown on the trip request screen is your upfront minimum earnings after the Uber service fee. In some cases including for example, where a trip takes longer than estimated, you may receive more than the upfront minimum amount. As always, any tips you earn are in addition to your other trip earnings and tolls legitimately incurred from pickup to drop-off will be reimbursed to you.
- What is the estimated min. earnings after service fee amount? And how is it calculated?
This is the amount you see on the trip request screen. It is the estimated minimum amount you’ll earn for a delivery after the Uber service fee is deducted. This amount includes your base amount, promotions that are available and any trip supplement (if applicable). Tips and any tolls incurred between pick up and drop off are not included in the upfront minimum amount and are additive.
- What are the rates?
You’ll see the minimum amount you’ll earn for a delivery (after Uber service fee) before you accept it. This amount includes your base amount, any promotions that apply and a trip supplement (if applicable). After the trip you can check the Trip Details screen to see your base amount and total earnings for the trip. Minimum earnings amounts can be found at the top of this page.
- What promotions are available?
Promotions can help you to identify busy areas when there’s a high demand for delivery. You’ll have access to Boost, Surge (if applicable) and Quest in your city. You can check the Trip Details screen to see any ‘promotional’ amount and total trip earnings for each delivery.
- What is a Trip Supplement? How do I know how much the Trip Supplement amount is?
In certain circumstances, a trip supplement may apply to a trip in addition to the base amount, when there are:
- Higher than usual estimated traffic conditions
- Higher than usual estimated wait times at the pickup location
- Areas with limited availability of delivery partners and higher than usual demand for delivery
The Trip Supplement is subject to the Uber service fee. You can check the Trip Details screen to see any “Trip Supplement” amount as well as your total trip earnings for each trip.
- What happens if I decline a request?
When you receive a trip request you can choose to accept or ignore the trip request, or select ‘decline’ to reject the request. If you choose to reject the request, you will be able to receive other trip requests, if available. If you accept a trip request, you are free to cancel the request without consequence until you have collected the item(s).
- Why do you stop charging a service fee starting 1 March 2021?
We will remove charging a service fee starting 1 March 2021. Under the new business model you will be engaging directly with Portier Pacific Pty Ltd if you choose to provide delivery services under a subcontract to fulfil delivery requests of customers. Previously you were engaged by the restaurant to fulfil delivery requests which attracted a service fee as we provided leads to you.
- Why do I need an ABN starting 1 March 2021?
As an independent contractor you are always required to have an Australian Business Number (ABN). You will now be directly engaged by Portier Pacific Pty Ltd so you will be required to record your ABN in our systems.
- Why can’t I access Uber Rides and Uber Delivery requests at the same time?
There are different contractual arrangements that apply between Uber Rides requests and Uber Eats Delivery requests that means you have to make a choice which requests you would like to receive.