Please enable Javascript
Skip to main content

GLOBAL VERSION BLOCKS

EUROPE VERSION BLOCKS

MEA VERSION BLOCKS

LATAM BLOCKS

Transparency and deactivation review

We want every experience on the Uber platform to be safe, respectful and positive, and we've developed our community policies and guidelines with that in mind. Account deactivations don't happen often, but when they do, we know they can be very stressful and frustrating. That's why we've worked to make the process as simple and transparent as possible, so partner-drivers know why they've lost access to their account and what they can do about it.

All deactivations of Uber partner-driver accounts are based on the platform's policies and guidelines, which can be accessed in the webpage uber.com/legal/pt-br. For more details on the main reasons that may result in the account deactivation on the Uber platform, please visit our Deactivation Policy.

Uber makes it possible for driver-partners to request a review of the deactivation decision, with a specific process for each of the following cases, if they understand that the decision was incorrect or undue:

 

  • Identification of criminal records in the name of the driver-partner during the security check process performed periodically.
  • Identification of fraudulent activities related to the partner-driver's account.
  • Identification of a security incident related to a trip.

More information about the reason for the deactivation

Here is the main information shared with the partner drivers:

  • At the time of account deactivation, Uber informs the partner-driver that the deactivation occurred due to one or more criminal records found in his or her name during periodic criminal records checks and directs them to enter the Review Request Portal. In this portal, the driver can find information on which documents they would need to submit in order to have their account reactivated. In addition, the partner-driver can request a review of the deactivation decision if he wishes to do so.

  • At the time of account deactivation, Uber informs the driver of the nature of the report received about a security incident related to the driver's account. For example, if the report received from a rider about the driver was regarding an incident of physical assault, the partner-driver is informed that it was a report of physical assault that led to the deactivation. In the same message Uber informs the possibility to request a review and the criteria regarding deadlines and procedures. During the review process, additional information may be requested by Uber, but always preserving the anonymity of the reporter.

  • At the time of deactivation, Uber may inform you of detected fraudulent activity, such as the identification of fraudulent document use or system or trip manipulation attempt. The same message indicates the possibility to place a review request and the criteria regarding deadlines and procedures.

Uber also considers the following when sharing information with the driver, which may influence the level of detail about the reason of the deactivation, depending on the case:

  • If the deactivation is due to one or more user reports of a security incident, it is neither legally permissible nor recommended to provide details of the report made, such as the reporter's name, exact trip, and other specific details that would make it possible to identify the reporter. This is because providing such information can compromise the security of the reporter, as well as violate the privacy of the person who is reporting. The anonymity of drivers and users who report incidents is fundamental for the preservation of their physical and psychological integrity, making physical retaliation or threats more difficult.

  • There are many attempts to fraud the Uber platform every day, such as using adulterated versions of the Uber app, applications that simulate GPS positions, among others. In this sense, the platform is always seeking to improve its protection mechanisms against such fraud attempts, which are constantly renewed. Thus, presenting detailed information about the fraudulent activity detected may weaken Uber's systems, stimulating the creation of new fraud mechanisms to try to circumvent the current safety and fraud identification systems, which harms all users of the Uber platform.

Deactivations reviews process

It is available to partner drivers to request a review of Uber's decision to deactivate their account if they wish. Here's how the review request works:

1. Review of criminal background checks

How it works

The partner-driver may request a review in case his account is deactivated due to criminal records found in his name during periodic security checks.

Requesting a review

Through the Review Request Portal, the partner driver can make a review request exclusively related to the deactivation due to the identification of criminal records in his name. To request a review, follow the steps below:

 

  1. Accessing the Review Request Portal.
  2. Sign up on the site.
  3. Through the portal, you can be informed about the certificate/documentation that you can submit if you want to initiate the review request, and you can also submit this documentation depending on the case.
  4. Also through the portal, you can send the necessary documentation, according to your case.

Eligibility criteria

Partner drivers from all over Brazil with only one opportunity to request a review for each case. The review request can be made only once, and the partner driver might be requested to submit certificates/documents within the indicated deadline.

2. Review of deactivation for reasons or user reports involving security-related situations

How it works

The partner-driver may request a new analysis in case of deactivation for security reasons or user reports involving cases that affect the driver's or user's safety.

Requesting a review

  1. Please contact our support by replying to the Uber email or message in the Uber Driver app in which you were informed about the account deactivation.
  2. In the deactivation message you will find information about the possibility of requesting a review and the according criteria. If you decide to request a review, you may be asked for additional information about the incident.

  3. Uber will process the information and may review the decision only upon the sharing of requested objective evidence, such as videos, audio recordings made with Uber's app, court orders, or other evidence that may be requested during the process.

  4. After the requested supplementary material is submitted, a new support agent from Uber will review the case.

Eligibility criteria

  • Partner-drivers with at least 1 full trip in Brazil.
  • There is a period up to 90 days to request a review from the date you receive the message from the support informing you of the deactivation. The request for a review can only be made once, and it might be requested to the partner-driver to submit documents proving new or additional facts to complete the review. The request for a review can only be made once, and it is necessary for the partner driver to submit documents proving new or additional facts in order for the review to be done.

3. Review of deactivation for reasons involving situations related to fraudulent activities

How it works

The partner-driver may request a new analysis in case of deactivation for fraud reasons detected by Uber in his account within 90 days after receiving the communication about the deactivation.

Requesting a review

  1. Contact support by responding to the deactivation message, within 90 days, that will appear in your Uber-Driver app in which you were informed of the deactivation.

  2. In the deactivation message you will find information about the possibility of requesting a review and the according criteria. If you decide to request a review, an Uber team specialized in cases related to fraudulent activities will analyze your case.

Eligibility criteria

  • Partner drivers with at least 1 full trip on the platform in Brazil.
  • There is a period of up to 90 days to request a review from the date you receive the message from support informing you of the deactivation. The request for review can be made only once.

Deactivation Policy

For more details on the reasons that may result in account deactivation on the Uber platform, please visit our Deactivation Policy.