Start ordering with Uber Eats

Order now
Deliver

How to safely drive or deliver without account sharing

November 18, 2022 / Australia

We are committed to keeping our users safe, which includes making sure that people who use our app are who they say they are. For this reason, account sharing (allowing other people to use your account) is not allowed when you use the Uber Driver app to drive or deliver.

Instances of account sharing may be in breach of our Community Guidelines, and may result in a review of your Uber account. Confirmed account sharing or repeated instances of potential account sharing may ultimately result in your access to the Uber Driver app being restricted.

If you have been reported for an account sharing issue, that means that either: 

  • A user you connected with on a recent trip has let us know that you looked like a different  person to the one in their app, or 
  • You recently took a photo using our Real Time ID Check that our system didn’t think looked like you, or which looked fraudulent.

Please note: Delivery People can delegate their orders using the ‘Delegation’ feature, which enables a delegator to provide their account details to another delivery person, the delegate. This is a form of controlled and approved account sharing between two accounts and is established after our onboarding process. A delegator can have multiple delegates. See more about delegation here.

To help support you in successfully using the Uber Driver app to drive or deliver, here is some information to help ensure you comply with the Community Guidelines as it relates to account sharing.
  1. Keep your account details secure

To make sure that people don’t have access to your account, it’s a good idea to keep your account protected. 

Never let someone else accept requests through the Uber Driver app using your account, and make sure that you don’t tell anyone your Uber username or password. 

If you think that your account details might have been compromised, you should consider updating your login details here. It can also be a good idea to update your password once every few months just in case.

2. If you deliver with Uber Eats – you should be the only person interacting with customers and merchants 

We appreciate that sometimes you may want or need to have someone with you when you deliver. If that’s the case, here’s a few tips to help ensure you comply with the Community Guidelines in relation to account sharing: 

  • When delivering, the account holder should be the one who picks up the order from the merchant and delivers the order to the customer
    The account holder should be the person picking up and dropping off the order. When a customer or merchant uses the Uber Eats app, they expect the person delivering to match who they see in their app or dashboard (your first name and profile photo are shared). If another person shows up in the account holder’s place, this can make the merchant or customer feel unsafe.
  • If you feel you need to bring someone with you to the delivery location, make sure you are the person completing the delivery. The account holder should be the person who hands over the order to the customer and completes any other required drop-off processes, such as ID verification. Remember – if you feel unsafe, you are able to cancel the delivery without it affecting your status or rating on the platform. Just select the “I feel unsafe” option in the app.
  • If you are delivering with another person, you must be the person operating the vehicle for insurance purposes.

Please note: The Account Sharing Policy does not limit Delivery Peoples’ abilities to delegate their orders using the ‘Delegation’ feature to other Delivery People.