Products

Features and tips for the perfect Uber pickup

July 1 / United Arab Emirates

To the app

We know how important it is that you get where you need to be on time, every time, with zero hassle and without waiting around. That’s why our app is designed to make communicating with your driver before your ride and getting picked up as easy as possible.

Here, we give an overview of the features that can help you enjoy the smoothest Uber pickup possible. 

Check the driver profile

This feature allows you to check the profile of the person picking you up, so you can check their name and photo to quickly verify that you’re getting in the right ride when they arrive. You can also read compliments and ratings they’ve received from other customers, learn a few fun or intriguing facts about the person, and see what trips they’ve done before. Not only does it make the pickup easier, it can also help to break the ice!

To check your driver’s profile, just request a ride and then scroll down once it’s been accepted to find your driver’s name, photo and other info. You can also check the make of car and license plate here.

Change your Uber pickup location

Sometimes plans can change at the last minute, and we’re ready for that. If you selected the wrong place for your Uber pickup point or need to change it for any reason, then don’t worry – you can change it easily. 

To change your pickup location, all you have to do is tap on the originally agreed pickup location on the map screen, and then type in a new location or drag your pin to the new spot. This will automatically update on your driver’s app, so you can rest assured that they’ll know where to find you.

Communicate with pickup notes

With pickup notes, you can give your driver extra details ahead of time, whether you’re asking them to knock on the door or how to recognize you in a crowd. It’s a quick and easy way to give them any info they might need to collect you and stop it becoming a game of chance.

Tap “Any pickup notes?” on the app when you go to request a ride to add a note. You can make your selection from several pre-written messages or write your own – then just hit Send. The message goes directly to the driver, who will have it read out to them via the app.  

Share your location 

By using the Uber share location feature, you can allow your driver to see where you are in relation to your agreed pickup point on the in-app map making for a smoother, easier pickup. 

All you need to do to activate it is to tap the grey symbol in the bottom right-hand corner of the map screen. Once the relevant icon has gone blue, you’ve successfully shared your location – when your driver reaches the Uber pickup location, they’ll be able to see your exact location, whether you’re still coming down the street or are standing on the corner behind them.

Note: You can toggle Uber location sharing on and off by going to “Settings”, selecting “Privacy Settings”, “Location” and then “Share Live Location”.

You want the most convenient and comfortable journey possible, so our features for hassle-free pickups, rider safety and more are designed with that in mind. Try out our Uber pickup features on your next Uber pickup.