Skip to main content

Uber's Community Guidelines

Our Community Guidelines were developed to help make every experience feel safe and respectful. Whether you're a driver or a rider, JUMP user or delivery person, restaurant or Uber Eats customer, everyone is expected to treat everyone else with respect, help keep one another safe, and follow the law.

Looking for delivery info?

  • In this video, you’ll learn about:

    • Some of our standards
    • How to contact us
    Youtube (filled)

Community Guidelines spotlight

Not following any of our Community Guidelines may result in the loss of access to your Uber accounts. Here are a few examples:

  • Using Uber apps to commit any crime

  • Sexual assault or sexual misconduct

  • Discriminating against someone based on traits such as age, color, disability, gender identity, marital status, national origin, race, religion, sex, sexual orientation, or any other characteristic protected under relevant law

Safety tips

Your personal space and comfort should be respected at all times while you're driving or delivering with Uber. If you encounter a difficult rider or customer, here are a few resources.

You can cancel a trip at any time

If you feel threatened or unsafe, you can end the trip and report the incident to us.

Report the incident

Uber reviews all reports submitted to our customer support team that may violate our Community Guidelines. To report an incident through your app, go to Help, select the relevant trip, and submit a message to our support team.

Contact authorities in the event of an emergency

If you need help while you're on a trip, use the in-app Emergency Button to call authorities. The app displays your location and trip details, so you can quickly share them with emergency services.

Fraudulent trips

How to recognise fraud

The overwhelming majority of our trips on the Uber platform are incident-free. However, every once in awhile, drivers and riders participate in activities which are against Uber policy. Most of these activities are defined as FRAUD, and result in fares being adjusted to zero and, at times, even account deactivation.

Know what to look out for to avoid any potential issues.

Key principles

  • Trips should NOT be pre-arranged between Riders and Drivers. In certain circumstances, this can be considered collusion.
  • Collusion is an agreement between two or more people to limit open competition by deceiving, misleading, or defrauding others (in this case Uber) to obtain an objective forbidden by law typically by defrauding or gaining an unfair market advantage.
  • Fraud is the deliberate deception to secure unfair or unlawful gain.
  • The purpose of fraud may be monetary gain or other benefits, such as pre-arranging a trip when the Rider has no other purpose than to assist the Driver getting paid by Uber AND when they have no intention to pay the fare.

We ensure that trips are legitimate

Signs of fake trips

  • Requesting, accepting and completing trips of the same device / payment profile
  • Excessive promotional trips
  • Excessive cancellations

All legitimate payments on Uber take place through our app. If a Rider messages you outside of the Uber platform and asks you to contact them off-site to arrange a trip, be very suspicious of this behaviour. Riders use Uber as an on-demand service and call the closest car for the best experience. Riders who pre-arrange trips can sometimes have other intentions, such as using fake rider accounts or stolen credit card details. If you take part in pre-arranging trips with these sorts of riders, Uber may have to adjust the trip fare to zero and take action against both you and the rider. This can be considered fraud through collusion between the Rider and Driver

We do understand that there may be fraudulent trips/riders that as the Driver, you are not aware of and have no control over. Our intention is not to make Drivers nervous about doing trips but to rather encourage them to report suspicious behaviour and avoid taking part in fraudulent trips. When a Driver pre-arranges a trip they open yourself up to this risk.

Report riders that request to do pre-arranged trips

Paying and communicating only through the Uber platform is vital to making every trip experience as positive and secure as possible. If your transaction happens offline and we have no record of it, it is almost impossible for us to assist you.

Keep your account secure, be cautious of strange links in messages from other users, even ones you know, as their accounts may have been compromised. If you suspect that you have received a “phishing” message, immediately report it to Uber and end communication with the sender.

We also recommend you take advantage of verifications and other features we’ve made with your trust and safety in mind.

Software license policy

In the spirit of fair and open access to the system, we have set out the following guidelines to limit the abuse of Uber Profiles and “slots” / “software licenses”.

Any profile which is flagged for violating the software license policy will be deactivated.

If you believe you were incorrectly flagged for violating the policy, click below.

Guidelines to limit the abuse of Uber Profiles and “slots” / “licenses”

When Uber first launched in South Africa, our mission included creating a fair, open and inclusive process for individuals to become driver-partners and access new economic opportunities. Four years later, this commitment has not changed. However, there are some individuals who have been using their Uber Profiles in a way that harms the fair and open process and restricts others from accessing the economic opportunity that comes with being a driver-partner.

In the spirit of fair and open access to the system, we have set out the following guidelines to limit the abuse of Uber Profiles and “slots” / “software licenses”.

You may not sell, rent or transfer your Uber profile or “slot” / “software license”, or advertise to sell or rent your "slot"/"Uber profile" as this is against Uber partnership terms and conditions.

Software License violation

Your profile or software license will be permanently deactivated if your account is flagged for software license violation. If you believe that your account was incorrectly flagged, please visit http://t.uber.com/softwarelicense and report the matter within 14 days.

Frequently asked questions

The information provided on this web page is intended for informational purposes only and may not be applicable in your country, region, or city. It is subject to change and may be updated without notice.