Why should you record your trips?
Encourages safe behavior
The app will let riders know that the trip may be recorded to promote respectful journeys.
Helps resolve issues fairly
Recordings can help support fair outcomes in case of a safety incident.
Protects your privacy
Recordings are encrypted and accessed by Uber only if an incident is reported.
Record My Ride
This feature uses your phone to capture your trip’s video and audio. Plus, you can choose to only record audio.
To set it up, select the blue safety shield on the bottom right of your screen, choose Set up next to Record My Ride, and grant the app access to your camera and microphone when asked.
Register your dashcam
This option lets you register your own dashcam and provide evidence for accident claims.
To register, choose Account on the main menu, select App settings, pick Video recording, then Dashcam registration, and follow the prompts to enter your dashcam details.
Sharing your recordings with Uber
If you or a rider submits a safety report, recordings attach automatically with no extra steps required from you.
How to attach dashcam recordings to reports
- Go to Help in the Driver app
- Choose Safety
- Select the type of incident and the trip you want to report
- Pick Upload now if your video is on the device you’re using to report
- If your video is on another device or you have a weak wifi connection, choose Upload later and you’ll get an email with a link to upload videos when ready
Frequently asked questions
- What is Record My Ride?
Record My Ride is a safety feature that allows you to automatically record your trips through the Driver app to help encourage respectful interactions with riders.
- Where can I use Record My Ride?
The feature is currently offered to select drivers in the US and Latin America. You’ll get an email if this functionality becomes available in your area.
- Is Record My Ride available for deliveries?
It depends on local privacy laws. Where permitted, it can record rides and deliveries. In areas with stricter requirements, Record My Ride will be available during your rides, but not your deliveries.
- Does Record My Ride work on Android?
It’s available on Android (version 10 and above) and iOS (14 and above). Some low-end devices might not get access to the feature given the technical requirements needed for Record My Ride. Some examples of requirements are:
- Memory: 1 GB of RAM or more
- CPU: Quad Processors or better
Remember to update your Driver app frequently.
To make sure you record the entire trip while using an iOS device, stay in the Driver app and use Uber’s navigation.
- Will riders know they’re being recorded?
Our riders will be notified that the trip will be recorded. Uber also provides stickers for you to download and display that inform riders about the recording process.
- Can Uber access my recordings?
Recordings are encrypted and can only be accessed after a safety report is submitted.
- Can I access my recording after submitting a safety report?
If a recording from your trip is uploaded to a safety report, you may be able to view eligible recordings, with privacy protections in place. Eligible recordings exclude those involving claims of sexual misconduct, severe injury or death, serious threats or criminal activity, or trips featuring minors including Teen trips. Uber reserves the right to update eligibility criteria.
- How does recording work when switching apps or taking phone calls?
For iOS, the video stops but audio continues if you switch apps; both stop for calls. Video will resume when you return to the app.
For Android, recording will continue with both video and audio, even if you switch to use another app (such as a navigation app) from the Driver app. Recording will stop if you close the Driver app.
- Is Uber listening as the recording is happening?
No. Uber does not watch or listen to recordings in real time. We may use automated technology to analyze trip audio for safety concerns and to make safety feature improvements. Full recordings are encrypted and only reviewed if they are sent to Uber as part of a safety report; otherwise, they are deleted after 14 days.
- Will Uber provide the recording to anyone else?
In accordance with our law enforcement guidelines and third-party data request policies, and as may be required under applicable laws, Uber may provide the recording to third parties (like police or law enforcement) with the appropriate legal process or in emergency situations.
- What privacy protections are in place?
We take steps to protect the privacy of both drivers and riders. Full recordings are encrypted, and only reviewed when a safety report is submitted; otherwise, they are deleted after 14 days. Drivers can only access recordings that are eligible for sharing. Before sharing an eligible recording with a driver, we apply privacy protections such as face blurring and identifiable watermarks. Drivers are strictly prohibited from downloading or sharing the recordings.
- When does automatic recording start and stop?
Once you turn on Record My Ride, all trips will be automatically recorded. Recordings start close to the pickup location and stop 20 seconds after a trip is done. If you leave or close the app, the recording will pause.
Video will stop recording if you leave the Driver app, but audio recording will continue. Audio recording will stop if your phone uses your microphone for something else, but video will continue. Recordings are paused if you need to take a call.
- How can I ensure the correct recording angle?
Position your phone to capture both you and the backseat. Use the Preview option in the app to check the recording angle before each trip.
- Does sharing a recording use data?
Yes, it’s best to be on wifi to help avoid data charges when submitting reports with recordings.
- How does Record My Ride interact with device storage, battery, and temperature?
The app stops recording if storage is under 500 MB, battery falls below 25%, or the phone overheats.
Recording resumes on the next trip if storage is above 500 MB, battery is above 40%, and your phone is back to normal temperature.
- How do I delete a recording?
Recordings are only stored on your phone. If you delete it, Uber has no way to recover it. To delete recordings from your device, follow these steps:
- Go to Menu in the Driver app
- Select Earnings
- Choose Activity
- Look for the recording(s) you wish to delete—each recording should be associated with a specific trip
- Choose the recording and select Delete
Please note, if you do not manually delete a recording, it will automatically be deleted from your device after 7 days as a privacy measure.
- What happens to my recording after a safety report is submitted?
Recordings may be reviewed by trained safety specialists to resolve safety incidents and improve platform safety. If a recording from your trip is uploaded, you may be able to review it as a part of the process, with privacy protections in place.
- I deleted the recording. Can I restore it?
The content will be kept only on your phone. If it’s deleted, Uber can’t restore it.
- I want to take a break from recording. How do I turn it off?
Go to Record My Ride in your settings to turn it off.
*Uber may periodically test new functionality on a limited basis for safety and other purposes, subject to notification to those involved in the test.
About
Explore
Opportunities by city