iOS App Permissions
When you use Uber on your iOS device as a rider, you'll see contextual dialogs asking you to approve certain permissions that the app requests. Allowing these permissions will ensure you have the best possible experience with Uber, but you'll have the choice to opt out of each iOS permission on an individual basis. (If you're an Android user, please see our Android App Permissions.)
To make sure you understand what features we access and what data we collect through these iOS permissions, we've provided a more detailed breakdown and discussion of the permissions below. You can edit your Uber permissions anytime by going into the Settings app on your device.
You'll see this dialog during the registration process. If you opt in, the app will collect and send precise location data to Uber's servers. We use that data to personalize your experience; to display trip history in your receipts; to facilitate driver selection and pickup; to determine what products, promotions, and surveys are relevant to you; to use for analytics purposes at an aggregated level; and to customize and improve the location-based services we provide. In addition to GPS, we may use other methods to determine precise location if you enable Location Services, including wifi signals. We may cache your recent locations on the device to speed up the launch process, but we will not store a history of your location to persistent memory on the device.
If you opt out, you can still use Uber, but you'll have to manually enter your pickup address every time before you can see what options are available in your city.
You'll see this permission the first time you use a feature in the app that has the ability to utilize contact information, for example when you refer a friend to Uber. If you opt in, the app will be able to access the contacts on your phone and we'll create an address book in the app that you can use for a number of social features, like splitting fares, sharing ETAs, and inviting friends to join Uber. We'll also use the information to make recommendations for you and other users and to customize your experience in using Uber services. All the contact information will be stored on our servers and synced from your phone. Uber will not share your contacts with anyone else or reach out to any of your contacts on your behalf without your permission.
If you opt out of this permission, you'll have to manually enter contact information anytime you split fares, share an ETA, refer a friend, or use other social features in the app.
You'll see this dialog once you've completed the registration process with Uber but before you request your first ride. If you opt in, Apple Push Notification Service generates a unique token for your device and passes it to Uber; this device token is then sent to Uber's servers and stored so that Push Notifications can be sent to you. You can read more about how Apple Push Notifications work here.
If you opt out of Push Notifications, you'll receive updates about your trip by text message (these communications are not optional). Note that if you initially tapped Don't Allow, the only way to opt into Push Notifications from Uber is to update your preferences in your phone's Settings app.
You'll see this dialog when you add a photo to your Uber profile (and select "Take New" instead of "Choose Existing") or when you scan your credit card with the camera during signup. The image of your credit card will be used to pre-fill the payment information field so you don't have to enter it by hand. We don't store the image of the credit card on our servers. If you opt out, you will need to enter your payment information manually. You can still add an existing photo to your user profile by granting access to your Photos (see below).
You'll see this dialog when you attempt to add an existing photo to your Uber user profile. If you don't allow the app access to Photos, you can still select to take a new photo for your Uber user profile by allowing the Uber app to access your phone's Camera.
You'll see this permission the first time you use a feature in the app that has the ability to utilize calendar information, for example when you decide to integrate shortcuts in the Uber app to your scheduled calendar events. If you opt in, the app will be able to access the calendar on your phone and we'll create shortcuts in the app so you no longer have to paste addresses from your calendar app as your destination. Your calendar data shared with Uber may include event title, timing of the event, location information about the event, event descriptions and number of attendees. All the calendar information will be stored on our servers and synced from your phone. Uber will not share your calendar with anyone else or reach out to any event invitees on your behalf without your permission.
If you opt out of this permission, we will delete all calendar data from this phone associated with your account. To proactively delete all your calendar data from Uber’s servers, in the Uber App, go to Settings, Calendar Events, and tap “Clear my calendar data from Uber”.
If you have any questions, you can write us at email@example.com.