We want to make sure that riders and drivers have access to tools that help them stay safe when they use our service. To help you get the help you need in an emergency situation, you can call 911 through the Uber app and, where available, we will share your location and other trip details with the 911 call taker. Trip details that we will share are your estimated current location at the time your 911 call was placed, the car’s make, model, color, and license plate, your name and phone number, your pickup and dropoff locations, and your driver’s name.
It is up to you whether you want to share your location and other trip details information with the 911 call taker. You can turn location and information sharing off by accessing the Emergency Data Sharing page in your Privacy Settings.
The location that we will share with the 911 call taker is your latitude and longitude, as determined by your device’s operating system at the time that you placed the call. Your device’s location information may not be accurate, particularly in dense urban environments.
When you choose to share your location and trip data with a 911 call taker we will pass along your location and trip information to RapidSOS, which provides a technology platform that enables location and data sharing from connected devices to 911 call takers. RapidSOS’s emergency platform is only integrated with 911 call takers in some of the areas where we operate in the United States. If we are able to share your trip details with a 911 call taker, you will see this noted in the Uber app before you place your 911 call. In some cases, your 911 call center and RapidSOS may only be able to process some, but not all, of your location and trip details. For example, a 911 call taker may have access to your estimated current location but may not be able to see your pickup and dropoff locations.
In order to protect you, Uber will retain your location and trip information as well as information about the times when you use our app to call 911. Uber may keep this information as long as permitted by law, and following that the information will be deleted. RapidSOS will delete the location and information data that it receives from Uber within 180 days, but may retain a summary that shows information such as the amount and number of calls that it processes. Any summary information that RapidSOS keeps will be de-identified so that it does not contain any information that can be linked to a person. Uber and RapidSOS will never record or listen to your 911 calls or make a transcript of your calls.