Uber Reserve is the latest feature that allows riders to pre-book their trips up to 30 days in advance. For drivers, this means a possibility to earn more and plan ahead.
How does Uber Reserve work?
Riders can reserve a trip up to 30 days in advance and at least 2 hours in advance. You will be able to see reservation requests up to 7 days in advance.
When a rider makes a reservation, drivers will receive the request with all trip details, including the fare. You will be able to see all Reservation requests via the driver app menu by going to Reservations -> Requests.
Once you confirm a Reservation request, this will appear in ‘Reserved’ in the Reservations section in the app. This section of the app will show you all upcoming Reservations and will allow you to plan your time in advance.
Uber Reserve is currently only available for UberX and Comfort bookings.
What makes an Uber Reserve trip different to other trips?
An Uber Reserve trip can be reserved and a driver assigned up to 7 days in advance. You will see the trip fare when deciding whether to confirm the Reservation, the fare is then locked and will not change.
You will be dispatched to arrive 5 minutes before the pick-up time. The rider can then choose to start the trip earlier or at the selected pick-up time. Please ensure you wait in a safe location.
The trip fare includes a Reservation fee which covers the additional waiting time. Therefore, the rider will not be charged additionally for waiting time when you arrive early, you will already be compensated for this time. There are different cancellation policies for Reserve trips (see below for more details).
Uber Reserve cancellation policy
You should be online 40 minutes before the pick-up time. If you are not, your Reservation will be canceled and another driver will be allocated.
If the rider cancels a Reserve trip less than 1 hour before pick up, you will receive the minimum fare.
- Do I have to confirm Reserve trips?
No, you are not required to confirm Reserve trips. You can choose if you want to do any of these trips but this is not mandatory and your confirmation rate will not be impacted.
- Can I cancel a Reserve trip more than 1 hour in advance if I will not be able to fulfill it?
Yes, you can cancel a Reserve trip more than an hour in advance.
- Can the fare change before the trip (e.g. due to surge)?
No, the fare is fixed. You will be able to see it when the request comes in and this will remain unchanged.
- What happens if the rider doesn’t show up for a Reserve trip?
If the rider doesn’t show 5 minutes after the pick-up time, the trip will be canceled automatically. You will receive the minimum fare.
- What is the Reservation fee? What are the rates?
The Reservation fee is 7 RON for UberX and 8.50 RON for Comfort.
- What is the minimum fare? What are the rates?
The minimum fare for UberX is 43 RON and 53.50 RON for Comfort.
- How can I opt-in to receive Reserve trips?
You don’t need to do anything to opt-in for Reserve trips. If you are an Exec or Lux driver, you should be able to see the ‘Reservations’ section in the Driver app menu.
- Where is this live?
Uber Reserve will be available in Bucharest.
Posted by Uber
Real-Time Analytics for Mobile App Crashes using Apache Pinot
Our Journey Adopting SPIFFE/SPIRE at Scale
NilAway: Practical Nil Panic Detection for Go
Cinnamon: Using Century Old Tech to Build a Mean Load Shedder