Introducing Prop 22 benefits
Thanks to Prop 22 passing in California, you’re getting what so many drivers and delivery people have asked for: the flexibility and independence you want with access to the benefits and protections you deserve.
“Your voice is what mattered most, and we are proud to have stood beside you. Even though we’ve won the vote, we’re still not done. In fact, we’ve only just begun to improve independent work together.”Dara Khosrowshahi, CEO
A breakdown of your Prop 22 benefits
Guaranteed minimum earnings
You can now plan and earn with more confidence knowing you’ll always make a guaranteed minimum.
When you’re active, you’re now guaranteed at least 20% more than the pickup city’s minimum wage—plus $0.30 per mile for expenses.*
There’s no limit to how much you can make, but if you earn less than the guaranteed minimum over 2 weeks, we’ll pay you the difference automatically.**
Effective December 16, 2020, Uber will purchase Injury Protection insurance for you.** If you get into a covered accident, this insurance will help protect you and your family from financial hardship.
- Medical expense coverage
- Disability payments
- Survivor benefits
We want to help cover your healthcare costs. Starting on January 1, 2021, if you have a qualifying plan and average at least 15 active hours per week each calendar quarter, you’ll receive a stipend to help pay for your healthcare.
For both rides and deliveries, you’re considered to be active from the moment you accept a trip until the moment you complete it.
Stipend amounts are based on Covered California’s average statewide premium for individual plans.
Additional changes as part of Prop 22
- Deactivation appeals: If your contract is terminated by Uber on or after December 16, 2020, you can now make an appeal through a new process. Learn more here.
- Safety training:
- You’re now required to complete a new Prop 22–mandated safety course before July 1, 2021. Safety courses will be made available in the Driver app.
- If you sign up to drive or deliver with Uber after January 1, 2021, you’re required to complete this training before you can take your first trip.
- Required breaks: You’ll be required to go offline for at least 6 consecutive hours if you drive and/or deliver by car for more than 12 hours in a 24-hour period.
If you have questions about any of these benefits or changes, our Support team is here to help. You can read more about each benefit at help.uber.com or contact Support by using the Help section of your Driver app.
Our commitment doesn’t stop here. We’ll continue working on new ways to support you and protect your flexibility. Thank you for driving with us.
*The $0.30/mile compensation does not apply for drivers and delivery people on foot or bicycle.
**Additional earnings payments, the value of insurance premiums paid by Uber, and healthcare stipends may be reported as taxable income on a Form 1099 or other applicable form as required by law.