Skip to main content

Last modified: 3/26/2024

AUDIO RECORDING TERMS AND CONDITIONS

Key Principles

  • These Terms set out the terms and conditions of the Feature which is an in-app recording feature available to users of the Uber app in certain territories only.
  • By accepting these Terms or by continuing to use the Uber app, you agree to be bound by these Terms.
  • You may record trip audio using the Feature only when you have set up the Feature in your Uber app (through turning on the toggle for the Feature). Where you have not set-up the Feature in your Uber app, and where the other user(s) on your trip have set up such Feature prior to the trip, you will be notified of the possibility of being recorded and will then have the ability to cancel the trip. Taking the trip will be deemed as a consent to be recorded. Where other user(s) set-up the Feature while on trip you will not be notified and your acceptance of these Terms is deemed as a consent to the Feature and to being recorded. When inviting, enabling, setting up or using a Teen Account and allowing the Uber app to access your mobile device’s microphone, you agree to allow in-app audio recording on your trips even where you have not set-up the Feature.
  • In-app recordings recorded through the Feature are encrypted and will be stored for not more than 7 days in your account. The recordings are only shared with Uber if submitted by the recording user as part of a ticket via the ‘Help Section’ of the Uber app and only once a trip is completed.
  • You continue to be subject to the General Terms of Use, Community Guidelines and Uber’s Privacy Notice when using the Uber app and agree to use the Feature solely for safety purposes. Select applicable country in the “Select Jurisdiction” dropdown menu at the top of the webpage with respect to any links included in these Terms.

Contractual relationship

These Product Terms and Conditions (the "Terms") constitute the contractual agreement between you, natural or legal person (“you” or “your”) and the Uber entity with whom you have contracted the General Terms of Use, and shall supplement and be read in conjunction with such General Terms of Use. The Terms apply to the in-app audio recording feature (the “Feature”) made available by Uber, including but not limited to the access and use by you of the Feature. By accepting these Terms or by continuing to use the Uber pp, you hereby agree to be bound by these Terms.

Amendments and Termination

These Terms shall apply on the date that the Terms are accepted by you in accordance with the terms hereof and shall remain effective until terminated as set forth below.

Uber reserves the right to amend these Terms or the Feature from time to time. Amendments to these Terms will be effective upon Uber's posting of the updated Terms. Your continued participation or access to or use of the Feature shall be deemed as your acknowledgement of any amendments and your consent to be bound by the updated Terms.

Uber also reserves the right to terminate these Terms or the Feature with respect to you, or to generally cease offering or deny access to the Feature or any portion thereof, immediately at any time and without notice.

The Feature

The Feature is an in-app recording feature available to users of Uber’s mobile application in certain territories.

You may record trip audio using the Feature only when you have set up the Feature in your Uber app (through turning on the toggle for the Feature). You can set-up the Feature at any time including while on trip.

Where you have not set-up the Feature in your Uber app, and where the other user(s) on your trip have set up such Feature prior to the trip, you will be notified of the possibility of being recorded and will then have the ability to cancel the trip. If you accept to take the trip further to being notified of the possibility of being recorded, then you are deemed to have provided your express consent to being recorded by the other user(s).

Where other user(s) set-up the Feature while on trip, or other rider(s) join your trip (UberPool, UberXShare products) you will not be notified of the possibility of being recorded. Your acceptance of these Terms is deemed as a consent to the Feature and to being recorded.

When inviting, enabling, setting up or using a Teen Account and allowing the Uber app to access the relevant mobile device’s microphone, you agree to allow in-app audio recording on your trips even where you have not set-up the Feature.

Please see here for more information on how the Feature works.

You hereby acknowledge and agree to use the Feature in line with these Terms and the Uber Community Guidelines, solely for safety purposes. You hereby further acknowledge and agree that you are solely responsible for the use or misuse of the Feature through your Uber account including where such use is not authorized by you. In the event of trips taken through your account by any person other than you, including with respect to any guest rider who takes a trip through your account or joins you on trip, you hereby confirm that you have informed them about the Feature and have sought their consent to be recorded during a trip in line with these Terms. You are solely liable for obtaining any consent regarding the audio recording of the trips through the Feature as required under the applicable law.

Privacy

In-app recordings recorded through the Feature are encrypted and will be stored on the recording user’s device for not more than seven (7) days following which they will be permanently deleted. You may also, at your option, choose to delete the recording prior to the seven (7) day lapse period. Deleted recordings cannot be recovered.

The recordings are only shared with Uber if submitted by the recording user as part of a ticket via the ‘Help Section’ of the Uber app and only once a trip is completed. The recording will only be decrypted if submitted to Uber as stated above, Uber will not have access to any recordings through the Feature unless and until shared with it by the recording user. Once the recording has been shared with Uber, it will be subject to Uber’s data management policies including on retention period. For more information, and to learn about your privacy rights, please read Uber’s Privacy Notice.

You hereby accept and acknowledge that, once a recording through the Feature is decrypted, Uber may unilaterally decide to share recordings through the Feature with governmental, law enforcement and/or juridical bodies if Uber deems it required under applicable law. Any disclosure by Uber to law enforcement authorities will be made in line with Uber Guidelines for Law Enforcement Authorities.

Disclaimer

UBER PROVIDES THE FEATURE “AS IS” AND “AS AVAILABLE” AND WITHOUT WARRANTY. UBER DOES NOT WARRANT THAT THE FUNCTIONS CONTAINED IN THE FEATURE WILL MEET YOUR REQUIREMENTS OR THAT THE OPERATION OF THE FEATURE WILL BE UNINTERRUPTED OR ERROR FREE. UBER SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY SUCH UNAVAILABILITY, INTERRUPTION OR ERRORS OF THE FEATURE. UBER HEREBY DISCLAIMS ALL OTHER WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO THE FEATURE, WHETHER EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, (A) ANY IMPLIED OR STATUTORY WARRANTIES COVERING THE FEATURE, AND (B) ANY IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, NONINFRINGEMENT OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

General Terms of Use

The General Terms of Use (including the limitation of liability, indemnity and governing law and arbitration provisions included therein) apply to the use of the Feature. The General Terms of Use can be found here. In case of conflict between the General Terms of Use and these Terms with respect to the Feature specifically, these Terms shall prevail.

Contact Us

If you have questions or comments regarding the Feature, you may contact us at https://help.uber.com/.