Cancellations can be frustrating for riders and driver partners alike, which is why a cancellation fee is in place to ensure that drivers are fairly compensated for their time when committing to a trip and riders are assured a reliable when they need it the most.
What’s the Uber cancellation policy?
Starting today, you will be charged a Tk 30 cancellation fee only if you cancel after 5 minutes after your driver has been assigned and is on their way to you. Keep in mind that you will not be charged if you cancel when the driver exceeds his original ETA by more than 5 minutes.
Why the change?
- Simplicity – Peace of mind knowing you have 5 minutes to cancel in case something comes up.
- Fairness – Drivers invest effort, time and fuel to reach the rider’s location, without getting compensated for the same. If you cancel after a driver is close to your location, it’s only fair that drivers are compensated for the same.
- A Better Uber – Uber is focussed on a seamless and comfortable experience for both riders and drivers. Please request a ride, only once you ready and to avoid a cancellation fee. When riders cancel frequently, drivers feel burned and are less likely to accept pickups. This leads to drivers rejecting longer pickups or calling clients to make sure that they want a pickup. Uber is efficient and elegant transportation. Unnecessary phone calls and rejected pickups are not Uber.
The fine print:
- If you cancel within 5 minutes, you won’t be charged.
- If you tap the cancel button after 5 minutes of requesting a ride, we will let you know that a Tk 30 fee will apply if you confirm the cancellation
- If for any reason your driver takes too long to get to you (the current ETA prediction for your driver shows the driver would arrive 5 minutes over the original ETA we provided) then the cancellation charge will be waived. In case you feel you were incorrectly charged a cancellation fee, please reach out to us on help.uber.com
- If you are not at the pickup location or your driver cannot get in touch with you, our Tk 30 cancellation fee will still apply
- Drivers are also able to cancel a ride request if they are unable to call you and he has waited for several minutes at your specified pick up location. In this case, you may be charged a cancellation fee.
So be sure to cancel as soon as possible to avoid a charge and more importantly, maintain a seamless experience for both riders and drivers. And as always, if you have a question about a charge, go to help.uber.com and write to us there. We’ll be happy to help!