We are committed to building new technologies that help make your Uber experience safer, so you can ride and drive with confidence.
If you feel uncomfortable during your ride, you can now record the audio of the trip within the app.
Just tap the blue shield to open your Safety Toolkit and access the Record Audio option. The trip will be recorded in the app, and you can choose to share it with Uber after the ride has ended.
For everyone’s safety
Riders and drivers can record audio through their app to help encourage safe, comfortable interactions on trips. By giving them this control, Uber empowers its users to monitor and report uncomfortable situations.
Designed to protect your privacy
When a rider or driver uses this feature during a ride, the audio recording will be stored and encrypted on the phone so that no one—not even the person who initiated the recording—can access it. Uber can only access it if the user opens an incident report with Uber and includes this audio file. Unless this happens, Uber cannot access any of the contents.
Help Uber investigate
We take safety reports seriously. If a user files a report with an audio file, the safety team will review it. Uber will take appropriate action in accordance with our policies.
- Where is the Audio Recording feature available?
Audio Recording is currently available throughout Brazil, Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Paraguay, Argentina, Chile, Bolivia, Ecuador, Uruguay, Honduras, and El Salvador.
- Who can use Audio Recording?
Where available, riders and drivers can initiate a recording through the in-app Safety Toolkit using their own smartphone. The other party in the vehicle will not be notified at the time of recording, though notice has been given to all riders and drivers that this capability is available.
- Can the driver or rider listen to the recording later?
No. To maintain the privacy of parties in the vehicle, the recorded content is encrypted, and neither riders nor drivers can listen to it.
- What if I don't want to be recorded?
In countries where this feature is available, riders and drivers are permitted to record a conversation they are a part of for their own safety. We strive to make the platform safer for everyone and respect the legal rights of all people. We take user privacy very seriously and limit any review of an audio recording to a dedicated safety team at Uber. If we receive a recording that is not relevant to a safety incident, we will delete it.
- Does Uber still have access to it if I don’t send it?
No, if you don’t submit an incident report with the recording attached, Uber has no access to the recording.
- Is it still recording when I am on a call with someone else?
No. The phone will take over the microphone and recording will automatically stop. You’ll have to start recording again on your own after the call.
- Is Uber listening as the recording is happening?
No, Uber is not listening as the recording is happening. Uber also cannot listen to the recording unless the user includes it with an incident report.
- Will the driver/rider know if I'm recording?
No, other parties in the vehicle will not be notified at the time of recording. In some markets, riders will be notified of the possibility of recording when matched with a driver.
- How does the feature notice vary by country?
In most countries, users are notified of the Audio Recording feature without having to take any action. This is the case in Brazil, Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Paraguay, and Argentina. Because of a local regulatory requirement, users in Costa Rica and El Salvador must acknowledge that recording may occur while taking trips on the Uber platform.
- How much storage does it use?
This will vary based on your mobile phone, but in general 5-7 minutes of recording takes 1 MB of space on your device.
- How much data does it use to share with Uber?
If you do need to submit a safety report with a recording attached, we encourage you to be connected to wifi first. Otherwise, your normal data rates will apply.
- How do I share the recording?
Share at the moment: a pop-up window will appear at the end of the trip, and you can share with Uber on the spot.
Share later: in the app menu, go to your trip history, tap on the trip in question, find the recording in your trip details, and share it with Uber.
Please note: you can only share audio with Uber after a trip ends.
- What will happen after I share the recording with Uber?
A member of Uber’s safety team will review the report and listen to the contents. Appropriate action will be taken in accordance with our policies.
- I accidentally deleted the recording. Is there any way to recover it?
No, the content is only stored on the device. If you delete it, Uber has no way to recover it.
- When does recording start and stop?
You can start and stop recording at any time through the Safety Toolkit by tapping the blue shield in the app.
- What if I forgot to stop the recording?
For riders, recording will automatically stop shortly after the trip ends. For drivers, recording will stop when you go offline.
More about safety at Uber
Count on 24/7 support and emergency assistance. Share your trip with loved ones. Our focus is on your safety so you can focus on the opportunity.