Products

Introducing Increased Privacy

December 11, 2018 / Pakistan

At Uber, we’re committed to safety and are always working towards building a better experience before, during and after every trip. This includes ensuring that drivers and riders can get in touch with one another, while always preserving their privacy.

We’re pleased to announce the introduction of Phone Anonymisation in Pakistan – a new feature designed to improve the way riders and drivers communicate. What does this mean? Now, when a rider and driver contact each other regarding a trip, both phone numbers will be anonymised – meaning that you will no longer see each other’s personal contact details. If you’re a frequent rider, you may notice the same anonymised number used for different drivers.

If you don’t want to make a call, you also have the option to message drivers from within the app; your number will not be shared even when you opt for this option. However, your phone number must match the one registered on the app, in order for you to place a call using this feature.

How to update your phone number:

  1. Tap the menu button on the top-left corner of the map screen
  2. Select “Settings”
  3. Tap the box with your contact details
  4. Select the phone number section and enter your updated phone number

Once a trip is completed, you’re encouraged to use our 24/7 in-app support should you need to reach a driver to retrieve a lost item or for a trip related matter. The in-app help service can be accessed within the Uber app by tapping the menu icon in the top left-hand corner. You can then navigate, tap on the “Help” icon and get the assistance that you need.

We hope you enjoy this added safety benefit and look forward to introducing many more for a better trip experience.