Skip to main content
Uber

Tell us your location

Please enter your nearest city name to help us display the correct information for your area

Select your language

New in-app feature for fatigue

Everyone wants to get safely from A to B, and Uber’s Community Guidelines recommend that you take a break if you’re feeling tired.

To help you manage your fatigue and stay safe on the road, the Uber app will include a new feature that notifies you if you are approaching 13 hours of driving time using the app.

How the in-app Uber fatigue feature works

To help you manage your fatigue and stay safe on the road, Uber has several fatigue processes in place:

  • The Uber App will notify if you are approaching 13 hours of driving time on the app. If you reach 13 hours driving time, the app will take you offline for 10 hours straight.
  • You will receive a push notification reminding you to take a 30 minute break if you’ve been online with the Uber app for 7 hours straight.
  • If you exceed 70 hours of driving time in a consecutive seven day period, you will receive an email warning and your access to the Uber app may be restricted

‘Driving time’ is any time that you are providing a trip or delivery using the Uber app, or alternatively when you are not providing a trip or delivery but are online and moving This includes both driving with UberX and delivering with Uber Eats.

Important: While the Uber App fatigue feature aims to help you comply with your legal requirements, it is your responsibility to ensure that you continue to maintain your logbook using Logmate and that you do not drive while fatigued. Not using the Logmate app to fulfill your work time requirements could result in your access to the Uber app being restricted.

Driving or delivering with Uber

Any time that you are providing a trip or delivery using the Uber app, or alternatively when you are not providing a trip or delivery but are online and moving is counted as part of this new safety feature. This includes both driving with UberX and delivering with Uber Eats.

NZTA: Work time and logbooks

The New Zealand Transport Agency (NZTA) limits the number of work time hours drivers with a P Endorsement can undertake. Work time includes (but is not limited to) all time spent driving, or performing work-related duties.

Small passenger service drivers must adhere to the following work time requirements:

  • Work time must not exceed 13 hours in a cumulative work day, and then drivers must take a rest time of at least 10 hours
  • After 7 hours of continuous work time, drivers must take a rest time of at least 30 minutes
  • Work time must not exceed 70 hours in a cumulative work period, and then drivers must take a rest time of at least 24 hours

The NZTA may take enforcement action against drivers based on the combined number of hours they spend online across all rideshare apps and other work activities. That means if you spend time across multiple work activities, it’s important to keep track of your total work time - not just your time driving with the Uber app.

Please see the NZTA’s work time and logbooks guide for further information.

You're in control of your time—and we can help

You’ll be able to track the time you spend online using the Uber app, and be reminded when you’ve reached your maximum driving time on the Uber app. You can the amount of driving time left and the time until the clock resets by going to Account > Driving Time in your Uber app.

Here’s how it works:

  • You’ll receive a notification when you have less than 2 hours left online, another when you have less than than 1 hour left, and a final reminder when you have less than 30 minutes left
  • If you are getting close to your 13 hours of driving time, you will receive trip requests for trips with an estimated duration which is less than your remaining time
  • Your access to the app will be automatically restricted if you’ve been online the maximum amount - but don’t worry, you’ll be able to complete any trip you’re currently on
  • Your 13 hours resets when you’ve taken a continuous break of 10 hours
  • The app will inform you when you’ll be able to go back online to receive trip requests. You can check on how much time is left until you can go back online in the Uber app under Account > Driving Time.

FAQs

  • Why does the Uber App limit the hours I can drive?

    As you may know, driving for extensive periods increases risk of dangerous driving incidents related to fatigue. In the interest of driver-partner and rider safety, and in line with Uber’s Community guidelines, you should take a break if you’re feeling fatigued.

    Remember - while the Uber App fatigue feature aims to help you stay safe on the road, if you hold a Passenger Endorsement, it is your responsibility to ensure that you continue to comply with the NZTA’s work- time and logbook requirements, including by maintaining your logbook. It is an Uber requirement that you use the Logmate app to fulfill your work time requirements, and not doing so could result in your access to the Uber app being restricted.

  • What counts towards 13 hours and 70 hours?

    The time that you providing a trip or delivery using the Uber app, or not providing a trip or delivery but online and moving, will count towards your 13 hours or 70 hours of driving time. This means if you are not currently providing a trip or delivery but are online and stationary e.g., sitting in the airport queue, this time is not included into your driving time.

  • How do I reset the counter?

    To reset your time counter after 13 hours of driving time you will need to take an uninterrupted rest of 10 hours.

    This means if you start driving at 12pm and drive for 4 hours, take a 1 hour rest at 4pm and continue driving from 5pm to 2am, you will have been driving for a total of 13 hours and will need to take a 10 hour break. By taking the 10 hour break, you will then be able to continue driving at 12pm.

  • How will I know when I reach 13 hours or 70 hours?

    You can monitor the time you have been driving in your Uber app by tapping on Account on the bottom right hand side of your app and then Driving Time. This will tell you the total amount of time you have been driving (as defined above)since your last 10 hour break as well as how much rest time is left until the clock resets. You will also receive notification to let you know when you are getting close to 13 hours of driving time.

    If you exceed 70 hours of driving time in a consecutive seven day period, you will receive an email warning and your access to the Uber app may be restricted.

  • What about 30 minute rest breaks as required by the NZTA?

    The new Uber App feature aims to help you stay safe on the road, but if you hold a Passenger Endorsement, it is your responsibility to ensure you continue to comply with the NZTA’s work- time and logbook requirements, including by maintaining your logbook. It is an Uber requirement at that you use the Logmate app to fulfill your work time requirements, and not doing so could result in your access to the Uber app being restricted. You will receive a push notification reminding you to take a break if you’ve been online with the Uber app for 7 hours straight.

  • How will I know if I have had a 10 hour break?

    You can monitor you break time in your Uber App, under Account > Driving Time. The Uber App will count down the hours you have left of your 10 hour break and notify you once you can go back online and start driving.

  • Will my app reset after a 24 hour period?

    No, if you reach 13 hours of driving time without taking an uninterrupted 10 hours break, the app will go offline for 10 hours.

  • What if I am on trip and I go over my driving time?

    If you are getting close to your 13 hours of driving time, you will receive trip requests for trips with an estimated duration which is less than your remaining time. The Uber app will not end any in-progress trips.

  • What if I drive on Uber Eats?

    All time driving with the Uber App is included.

  • What if I also drive using other ride-share apps?

    The Uber App can only provide notifications to you while you are driving using the app. However, it is your responsibility to ensure that you continue to maintain your logbook using Logmate, capturing all work time, and that you do not drive while fatigued. Not using the Logmate app to fulfill your work time requirements could result in your access to the Uber app being restricted.

Start making money with Uber

Sign up now