Start ordering with Uber Eats

Order now
Restaurants

Is your business going through a change of ownership?

August 17, 2020 / Australia

Are you the new owner?
Are you purchasing or have you recently purchased an existing Restaurant with an existing account on Uber Eats’ platform? If yes, please email restaurants.anz@uber.com to confirm the change of ownership and provide the information that will be associated with your restaurant.

Are you the previous owner?
Are you selling or have you recently sold an existing Restaurant with an existing account on Uber Eats’ platform? If yes, please email restaurants.anz@uber.com to confirm the change of ownership and provide the business information that will be required to change owners.

During the change of ownership, we will pause the partnership while we process your request so the restaurant will not be active on the Uber Eats app until the transition is complete. 

Once we have collected the requested forms from both the previous owner and the new owner, we will get in touch with the new owner as they will need to sign a new Uber Eats Agreement. 

Note: If you require a new menu and new photography, you will be given a new account for Uber Eats. If you will be keeping the same menu and photography as the previous owner, you will have the option to continue using their account given they provide authorisation. Unless the previous owner agrees to transfer their existing Uber Eats account, all new owners will receive a new Uber Eats account on the app. 


What does this mean for the previous owner?
By signing an authorisation form, you will transfer your current Uber Eats account, including previous order history, payment statements, restaurant ratings (last 90 days), and ranking, to the new owner. We recommend that you download your payment statements and invoices before the handover, in case you need them later on for tax purposes. As you no longer own the business, your agreement with Uber Eats will terminate and invoices will not be available for download after the transfer of your Uber Eats account. 

What does this mean for the new owner?
New owners are given a brand new Uber Eats account, if the previous owner does not transfer their existing Uber Eats account.  New accounts mean the restaurant will appear as a completely new restaurant on the Uber Eats app meaning previous ratings, ranking, and history will be reset. The restaurant will no longer appear in its customers’ favourites and order history.  

Remember, a restaurant’s past performance may not be indicative of its future performance on the Uber Eats app.

FAQ

How long will this process take? 

The process may take 5-10 business days if both the previous owner and the new owner can provide the correct documentation to Uber Eats promptly. It may take longer if the new owner requires changes to the menu, a photography session or a new tablet.   

Will the previous owner’s tablet be deactivated during this process? 

The previous owner’s Uber Eats account will be deactivated while we process the change of ownership request to ensure payments go to the correct owner.

How do I enter my new bank details? 

Our team will facilitate the process of updating the bank details. 

Will I receive a supply of Uber Eats Bags?

Yes, the new owner will receive a new ID to register with a third party supplier, Detpak, and can claim two boxes of 250 bags each for free. After that, it is up to the new owner to purchase bags at their own cost.

When is it a change of ownership?

YES, If a restaurant is:

  • A sale of the business is taking place
  • Changing Owners/Bank Details
  • Changing their ABN/NZBN 
  • Keeping the same trading name

Please proceed to email Restaurants.anz@uber.com

NO – If a restaurant is: 

  • A sale of the business is taking place
  • Changing Owners/Bank Details 
  • Changing their ABN/NZBN 
  • Changing their trading name 

Please proceed to https://www.ubereats.com/restaurant/signup